The Man, the Myth.. The Missing? Q spoke to me, "Mr. TD is trapped in the Black Lodge. You must Kill the Past to free him."

Moderator: MagnificentTerrorism

Deep
Spiral Smile

TSC - Lost in Translation

Post by Deep »

I know, I know. Some people think and keep thinking that TSC Remaster has questionable English translation. Now, I’m no expert on any language. But I can definitely say that this version is fine. There 5% of stuff that could’ve been addressed, but it’s not as crucial as people make it out to be. I’ve been gathering some evidence. If you have some more - feel free to share them.

There are two main issues I think could be adjusted.

1 – Lack of honorifics
English is language of information. There is no honorifics. There is only one pronoun of “You”. You can do Mister or Miss, or even Sir, but they don’t work that well or have same meaning to -san, -sama, -kun, -chan, etc. These nuances are missing from that English version, I’d bring them back where they’re supposed to be. For example: when Tokio engages in conversations with Kusabi, he calls him Kusabi-san. However, when he’s alone thinking, talking to somebody else or writing his diary up, he drops the honorific, because he really doesn’t give a fuck about the guy. Another example: Kusabi dislikes Hachisuka and doesn’t use any honorifics when he talks to her or about her. Another example: Koichi calls Akira onii-chan. In English version Koichi calls Akira – you. They dropped it here altogether.

2 – Swearing